End of a year and beginning of a blog…

Allright… Here it is the last day of 2011 and I am finally fulfilling a goal – to start my own blog to share, care and reflect upon things I find interesting, funny or just noteworthy.

I wish a happy end of this Gregorian Year and a successful 2012 for everybody. Looking back at the year that has passed I have made many journeys, and I don’t just mean those spent in an airplane. Engaging myself in exciting projects during the first 6 months of the year brought me to a new and exciting job promoting social innovation and social entrepreneurship. Both on a national as well as international level, and for this I am grateful.

Let me share just a few memories of 2011…

This years projects took me to Cambodia and Thailand (my third home), family took me to my beloved Oregon, friends took me to a beautiful wedding in Israel. It has been a year of making new friends, acquaintances, contacts and colleagues. And realizing that things that have been an essential part of my life since childhood are now becoming buzz words, such as sustainability (my parents and their friends have lived according to these guidelines early on in Oregon,  a sense of responsibility and respect for Planet Earth and it’s people) and social entrepreneurship (making the world a better place, by starting a project or business, preferably the latter!).

Social media has been such an inspiration to me this year, first and foremost on that list is Twitter. If you have not understood it’s greatness, take some time to get to know it.

Among other highlights this year was being part of the core team arranging for Muhammad Yunus to visit Stockholm. Together with Bookhouse Publishing, Sida, SE Forum and others that visit was a great inspiration to all, specially for those of us that took part in the crowd-translation of his latest book “Social Business” into swedish. Another assignment I had this year, working with the project “Children of single mothers” at Fryshuset granted me access to the yearly Forum för Eldsjälar (forum for enthusiasts) – and what an event that was! Great speakers that inspired me above and beyond; Jan Eliasson, Hans Rosling, Therese Albrechtson, Theo Härén – all within the span of three days.

Many have the accomplishments been since I started working for Forum for Social Innovation, a national platform that gathers stakeholders within this field in Sweden. Suffice it to say I am enjoying  my work and I am very happy to see that more and more people are coming to know and understand the great things that can happen when you nurture social entrepreneurship. And if I am to say anything about the future, it is that we will see a lot more of this in Sweden, Europe and the world – the world needs a new economic system and among others impact investment is showing the way and we need new solutions for the challenges the world is facing today. So keep your eyes open for the genuine social entrepreneurs! Like Bee Urban, watch their video and be inspired!

Thank you to all those who have brightened my year, who have shared with me and inspired me. I look forward to communicating and collaborating even more in 2012 and I hope I will be enchanted and blown away again and again during the year to come.

Happy New Year!

This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

